AC Association Croquet

GC Golf Croquet

Click on images for an enlargement

Soham by season:

See also:

ACIndoor Doubles Speed Croquet Laws (PDF 15 kb)
Timer software
Summary of indoor events & winners
Summary of indoor trophies & winners

Manager: tba*

AC Sun 17 March 2019 - Speed Doubles

The Millennium Cup

Manager: tba*

AC Sat 16 March 2019 - Speed Doubles

The Cornelius Cup

Manager: tba*

AC Sun 17 February 2019 - Speed Doubles

The Albert Lawrence Trophy

Manager: tba*

AC Sat 16 February 2019 - Progressive Doubles

The Martins Trophy

Manager: tba*

AC Sun 20 January 2019 - Speed Doubles

The Belgian Cup

Manager: tba*

AC Sat 19 January 2019 - Alternate Shot Doubles

The Soham Trophy

Manager: tba*

AC Sun 9 December 2018 - Speed Doubles

The Soham Trophy

Manager: tba*

AC Sat 8 December 2018 - Speed Doubles

The Rose Bowl

Manager: Terrey Sparks

AC Sun 11 November 2018 - Speed Doubles

The MCP Mallets Trophy

Hunstanton Back in Winning Form

It was back to the normal fayre of speed doubles on Armistice Day which this year fell on Remembrance Sunday. As it was also the 100th Anniversary of the ending of the Great War the Manager Terrey Sparks, in line with tradition, called for two minutes silence at 11am to reflect on all those who gave their lives in the past, preceded by the reading of a short poem:

All we have of freedom
All we use or know
This our fathers bought for us
Long and long ago

Rudyard Kipling

After this short break play resumed, in which it became clear that this was going to be a three-horse race between Letchworth, Hunstanton and Surbiton. The Letchworth pair comprising Nick Mounfield and Peter Ross, without loss started their last game against Hunstanton who had also kept a clean sheet but had incurred two wins with time penalties. Surbiton had earlier fallen away. In the final game Letchworth set the pace by forging ahead, setting a commanding lead. However, like an emerging sleeping giant, Hunstanton started to up their game, reducing this lead to finish the match in fine style emerging the winners by +2 and thus ending a barren year for trophies.

Teams Players Wins Rank
Hunstanton Jeff Race & Bryan Saddington 5/5 1
Letchworth Nick Mounfield & Peter Ross 4/5 2
Surbiton David Maugham & Alison Jones 4/5 3
Colstanton Nick Steiner & Terrey Sparks 2½/5 4
Colchester 1 Rich Waterman & David Haslam 1½/5 5
Meldreth Robert Skeen & Keith Harker 1½/5 6
Colchester 2 Ann Brookes & Jane Collier ½/4 7
Colchester 3 Georgeen Hemming & Lydia Vaux 0/4 8
Report and photo by Terrey Sparks

Manager: Terrey Sparks

AC Sat 10 November 2018 - Speed Doubles

The EACF AC Inter-Counties

Hertfordshire run rampant

A full attendance from representatives from all the six eastern counties plus Lincolnshire took part in the first 2018/19 indoors winter croquet session held at the usual superb location of the Ross Peers Sports Centre at Soham. As expected with the total mandatory peels and time penalties exceeding the bisques, play was of a highly competitive and keen standard. Despite a valiant effort last year's winners Cambridgeshire with Adrian Kirby and Cesar Miranda-Reyes could not hold off the determined onslaught of Norfolk and Hertfordshire, despite bringing a group of supporters to bolster their attempt. However, Letchworth made up of Nick Mounfield and Heather Bennett proved in no mood to compromise, sweeping all the opposition aside and winning all their six games to carry off the trophy.

County Players Wins Rank
Hertfordshire Nick Mounfield & Heather Bennett 6/6 1
Norfolk Jeff Race & Timothy Race 5/6 2
Cambridgeshire Adrian Kirby and Cesar Miranda-Reyes 4/6 3
Essex David Maugham & Alison Jones 3/6 4
Lincolnshire Mike Bowser & Terrey Sparks 1½/6 5
Suffolk Mike Percival & Peter Allnutt 1/6 6
Bedfordshire Cliff Jones & Peter Aspinall ½/6 7
Report by Terrey Sparks,
photos by Terrey Sparks and Mike Bowser

* Management will be shared between Terrey Sparks, Cliff Jones, Duncan Hector and Colin Hemming